Sarah Palin: A new name to most that’s been in my head all day…

So, I woke up this morning (yes, late, admittedly) to the sound of Senator John McCain announcing his “surprise” VP pick, Gov. Sarah Palin. Immediately, I was annoyed. John McCain is playing politics at a time when it’s intergral to have America’s best interests in mine.

Thank you, John McCain, for giving me something to be fired up all day about. Honestly, how many boxes do you get to check off with this one? Hmm, let’s see. She’s an anti-choice, gun-loving, moose stew eating woman with a young son with Downs syndrome and another in Iraq. Wow. Now that’s a mouthful.

Even Palin seems to be thinking, Are you kidding me?

Even Palin seems to be thinking, "Are you kidding me?"

She’s a woman. Great. She’s not a woman who seems to stand for anything important to me AS a woman. A few quick facts about Sarah Palin:

  1. She’s not just pro-life, she’s hardcore anti-choice. Gov Palin is against abortion even in cases of rape or incest.
  2. She’s open to teaching creationism in our nation’s schools.
  3. She hates polar bears! One of her recent efforts was to sue the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service to remove the polar bear from the endangered species list.
  4. She’s a lifetime member of the National Rifle Association.
  5. She’s lobbied aggressively to drill the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge to and has pushed for more drilling off of Alaska’s coasts.
  6. John McCain only met her ONCE. One time before making this pick. Just once.

Sarah Palin is about to undergo scrutiny like never before. She has not spent the last year on the campaign trail facing tough questions. She has not been forced to think about hot topics like international relations & national security. Ya know what she did before her stint as governor (which PS, it’s her first term and she’s not even 2 years in)? She was a self-proclaimed hockey mom who was mayor of a small Alaskan town of 9,000 people. As governor of Alaska, she has worked to reform ethics, but, oh wait, what’s that? She’s even under scrutiny herself.

To her credit, she is Alaska’s first female governor, as well as their youngest. She has approval ratings at an upwards of 80%. (Hey, remember when GW had the highest rankings ever?) People who actually know of her claim that she’s a force to be reckoned with and a great lady.

And hey, I’m not trying to attack the woman’s personal character. It takes a lot to be a working mom. But a couple of weeks ago, this lady had no idea what a VP even did. Just one month ago, she said that the job didn’t seem “productive.” When approached by Larry Kudlow of CNBC’s “Kudlow & Co.” about being on the Republican ticket, she said: “As for that VP talk all the time, I’ll tell you, I still can’t answer that question until somebody answers for me what is it exactly that the VP does every day? I’m used to being very productive and working real hard in an administration. We want to make sure that that VP slot would be a fruitful type of position, especially for Alaskans and for the things that we’re trying to accomplish up here for the rest of the US, before I can even start addressing that question.” Umm, what now?

At the end of the day, and in today’s case at the beginning, what gets me the most upset is the fact that I feel that this is John McCain’s attempt to woo me, a Hillary supporter, to his side. I have no doubt that Sarah Palin is an intelligent woman, but so am I. McCain, you ain’t foolin’ me. It’s as if her pantsuit will somehow be my demise. John McCain, no thank you. I supported Hillary because she is a strong woman and politician who earned her place in American politics. Because I would trust her as our nation’s commander and chief. Gov. Sarah Palin may prove to be a strong woman who gets things done, but she is no Hillary Clinton. She does not hold my beliefs. And I will do all that I can as a citizen to ensure that she will not be my Vice President.

Oh, and guess what Repubs. Not only has she smoked pot, but she INHALED. yowzas!

Leave a comment

Filed under politics

Leave a Reply

