A Late & Yet Surprisingly Efficient Start

Every time I wake up late, I amaze myself with the speed that I can get ready

I’m also annoyed that my body and mind seem incapable of harnessing these super speed readiness tricks every day.

You know the feeling. “Hmm…what time is it? …bwah???!!!!!!!”  This morning I had to babysit at 9, and in my overtired yet incapable of sleep mode the night before, I set my alarm for the wrong time. Awesome.

15 minutes. Ready to go. Granted, I skipped breakfast outside of some hot cocoa, but what? How is it that activities that usually take 40-50 minutes suddenly happen in a third of the time? Part of it is, of course, reliant on external time factors, such as needing to catch the train at a certain time and thus being forced to haul ass.  But what’s the deal? I’m definitely not a morning person, so you’d think that if I could sleep for an extra half hour, I’d be pretty good at speeding up the getting ready process. Nope! I instead zone out while brushing my teeth or need to get another drink or water before I’m out the door or don’t know what socks to wear. Ridiculous.

I feel as though this is a common phenomenon, no? Perhaps we should all start kidding ourselves and wake up late every day. Only then we’d actually be late. It’s like setting the clock ahead 10 minutes. You did it. You’re not fooling anyone… even yourself.

All the clocks in the world can't turn back time, buddy.

Oh, and in case you were wondering. I made it there on time. Minus the part where I went to the wrong house. So, that said, if you take out the part where I stood on someone else’s door step ringing the bell and knocking for 2 minutes, I’d say we’re good 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Culture

Leave a Reply

