A Thorny Gesture

I got yelled at today for not accepting a rose from a stranger.

I was walking home from work and about to head down to the train when a man with a few roses in his hands began to lunge toward me, extending a pink rose. I smiled and said, “No thank you,” as I assumed they were for sale. “NO NO NO NO NO!” he shouted. I kept walking down to the escalator, briefly looking back as he yelled, “Hey, no!” and something about how I “couldn’t do that” behind me.

Okay, so let’s assume that this man wasn’t trying to sneakily sell the flowers, but to hand them out. Really buddy? Isn’t the good deed/flirtatious gesture just a bit negated when you start shouting at people and demanding they take your flower?

Living in a city never ceases to entertain.

Leave a comment

Filed under Comedy, Culture, Flirting

Leave a Reply

